StencilGirl & Kraft-Tex Blog Hop: Floppy Hat and A Writer’s Kindle Cover

February Blog Hop Header.jpg

Welcome to my corner of the StencilGirl & Kraft Tex blog hop. Making projects for this hop was so fun!

What feels like dyed leather, grabs paint and takes stitches easily? Kraft Tex Fiber Paper. This hop gave me the opportunity to sew on a textile I might not have thought to sew.

Easy project first! I have wanted a cover for my kindle so I could slip it into my purse or suitcase. I am really pleased with how it turned out!

carol-baxter-kindle-cover-front-stencilgirl-kraft-tex-blog-hop-web.jpg

carol-baxter-kindle-cover-back-stencilgirl-kraft-tex-blog-hop-web.jpg

StencilGirl Typewriter Stencil S128 6″x6″ & Your Thoughts L102 9″x12″ Stencil

Paints, Painter’s Tape, Sewing Machine, Needle and Thread

Brown Velour (50 cent thrift store find), Lime Kraft-Tex Fabric Paper, & Button

scissors.jpg

  1. Measure and cut your pattern.
  2. Stencil the velour: To achieve a crisp outline with the Typewriter stencil on velour I made several tries – roller, pouncing with a dauber, a stencil brush, and pouncing with a sponge.

Velour is thick and soft. Make sure you are stenciling with, not against, the fibers.

     What finally worked was pouncing with a sponge. I used painter’s tape over the “keys”, stenciled the top half first and then did the bottom half.  I also held the stencil from moving with my fingertips.

typewriter-stencil-stencilgirl-blog.jpg

  1. Stencil the Fabric Paper. (I saw lime, mahogany and white in a magazine and really liked the color trio.)your-thoughts.jpg
  2. Stencil the top flap with the typewriter portion so it lines up with the velour typewriter.
  3. Stencil the back cover and write on it with permanent pens.
  4. Fold the bottom and side edges of the back cover paper over the velour and sew.

I had planned to make a little cell phone case, then I said to myself, “I think I’ll make a hat.” Never mind that I have only made one other paper hat in the past 4 decades. Besides, I only need a book and a hat and a towel for the beach!

carol-baxter--kraft-tex-stencilgirl-hop--HAT-web.jpg

Come. Journey with me. I’ll share with you what I have learned as I made this floppy head covering.

  1. I am eager to try it again.
  2. You’ll need to use Pi.
  3. You’ll deserve pie when you are done!

I used elements from 2 large StencilClub stencils: July and April 2016, both designed by Mary Beth Shaw.

april 2016 stencilclub.jpg

july 2016 stencilclub.jpg

I primarily used 3 paint colors: pale yellow, coral, lavender, plus a few bits of sea blue.

  1. Cut a circle as wide as the Kraft Tex Paper, set aside.1.jpg2.jpg
  2. Measure around your head and from the crown to the band.
  3. Make the crown or dome of the hat: Divide the length of the band by 4 or 5 (My hat dome has 4 sides, if I did this again I would make 5 because that would make it more circular. I think.) and add 3/8th inch on all sides. (I had looked up how to sew a felt beanie on the web and, forgetting that felt has more give than paper, only added 1/4 inch so by the time I sewed the hat was an inch too small for my head…) I am eager to try this again in another color!
  4. Trace patterns and cut a pointed dome.
  5. Stencil your pattern on all of the paper.3.jpg4.jpg
  6. Match the edges of the dome the way you want (I used a, b,c,d) and machine sew about 1/4″ from the edges.5.jpg
  7. Carefully snip the curved part of the dome so when you turn the hat inside out it will shape properly. Be sure not to cut through the stitches!6.jpg
  8. Turn dome part of hat inside out.7.jpg
  9. Measure the circumference of your dome, divide by pi (3.14) and that is the width of the circle you must cut from the center of your hat. I folded the circular portion in fourth’s and marked the center then measured 3 1/2″ from that point all around. (Where, oh where is my circle cutter?)8.jpg
  10. Put the dome of the hat inside the circle of the brim, line it up where you want the patterns and pin it in place. I only needed 4 pins.9.jpg
  11. Set up your sewing machine like you plan to sew a sleeve and sew the brim to the dome. (I did not care that the cut portion was on the outside because it is covered by the ribbon.)
  12. Add ribbon or other trim. (As I am writing this post, I think my next hat will have a button at the top.)

CONGRATULATIONS! You have made yourself a floppy hat! You deserve a nice slice of your  favorite pie while you are getting paper and stencils to make your next hat.

I hope you have enjoyed all the amazing projects on this hop!

Carol, Wearer of Many Hats

February Blog Hop GIVEAWAY image.jpg

One lucky winner will receive a $25 Gift Certificate to StencilGirl Products

AND a $25 Gift Certificate for C&T Publishing!!
Visit the fabulous designers from both teams and comment for your chance to win!

February 15
Mary C. Nasser       Janet Joehlin       Lindsay Conner

February 16
Gwen Lafleur       Teri Lucas       Tristan Gallagher

February 17
Tina Walker       Veronica Lovvorn       Carol Baxter (you are here)

The more blogs you comment on, the more chances you have to WIN!
(One comment per blog please.)
You have until Saturday, February 18th at 11:59PM Central Time to leave your comments.

Winner will be announced on
StencilGirl’s Facebook page and C&T Publishing’s Blog on Sunday, February 19.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

61 thoughts on “StencilGirl & Kraft-Tex Blog Hop: Floppy Hat and A Writer’s Kindle Cover

  1. Wow! You are so creative, Carol! I would have never guessed this was your first hat! It’s awesome! The Kindle cover is really great, too!

  2. What a neat Kindle cover. I like the typewriter stencil! Oh and I love the floppy hat. Sew cool! Good luck everyone! angielovesgary2at gmaildotcom

  3. what a fabulous hat. I should wear a hat in the sun but never
    do – haven’t found anything I feel like wearing. I’d wear this
    hat with pride. Going to try to make one for myself.
    this paper sounds like a fantastic product. Can’t wait
    to try it.
    thanks for sharing some wonderful projects.

  4. I would use the Kraft-Tex to make a sewing machine cover (no Pi involved there), and applique some colorful flowers on it. Looks like fun material to work with!

  5. Wow, 2 fun and useful projects! Love the bright colors on the green–so springy! And thanks for providing instructions and tips!

  6. Congrats on your projects! I have already contemplated the possibility of me successfully completing said hat…. and it came to a No, not likely… lol but i do Love yours😊

  7. I love how you show how to make the hat after you added all the stencils. Such a cute hat. Whod-a-thought! such a creative idea!! I love the typewriter stencil too. Great job on that project.!!

Leave a Reply

