StencilGirl & Walnut Hollow Blog Hop: Anniversary Trivet, Feather Collage, and eBook Stand

SG & WH Blog Hop Header.jpg

Wooden-you-know-it, you have arrived at the next stop on the hop! I stenciled 3 projects.

trivet-carol-baxter-stencilgirl-walnut-hollow-blog-hop.jpg

Anniversary Trivet

Stencils used: Terri Stegmiller’s large stencil from StencilClub November 2016. I stenciled, cut, and turned around separate portions of the flowers and leaves to create butterflies.

nov 2016 stencilgirl stencilclub.jpg

The “Yes” is from Cathy Nichols’ small stencil from StencilClub September 2016.

stencilclub-stencilgirl-stencils.jpg

Walnut Hollow 10” Trivet

Paper butterflies cut from my wedding invitation.

Paper background – from my immense stockpile

Yellow and blue paint

Ink for distressing

Green, black and orange permanent markers to outline  the word, flowers and leaves

Finished with Modge Podge (Who else has fond memories of Modge Podge Lodge?)

book-stencilgirl-walnut-hollow-bloghop-baxter.jpg

My Kindle Stand

The challenge was to stencil this Walnut Hollow Natural Bark Edge Tablet Stand in a way that was interesting but not too distracting — just my peculiarity!  Walnut Hollow also sells a great  ebook table/iPad stand with a back that comes up but I would have had to paint it a solid color, and where’d be the fun in that?!)

The black and blue chalk paint in my arsenal seemed like a good foundation. I like how it appears rather distressed, like a used book.

L317-now is the time-stencil.jpgS363-apple chancery stencil.jpg

I used Carolyn Dube’s Now Is the Time stencil for the back of the book and Mary Beth Shaw’s Apple Chancery stencil on the “spine”.

Tip: I found the letters in the Chancery stencil easier to use cut out as 2 to 4 letters.  I now store them in an envelope.

just-blue.jpg

Quill

cbaxter-stencilgirl-walnuthollow-feather.jpg

I really liked the rough side of Walnut Hollow’s Rustic Feather because it had the calamus and rachis (center portion- yes, I looked that up). I wrote on this part with marker. I do admit it was a challenge as the feather was larger in reality than I had pictured in my mind.

Process: I painted the feather with a double coat of gesso, spritzed with some color sprays and then had fun layering with the small stencil from the Here There & Everywhere StencilClub set and the roses (stenciled on deli paper) from the Heraldry StencilClub set, and A Rose by Any Other Name. It is covered with Modge Podge.

2024.jpg

2033.jpg

I hope you’ll check out all of the art that was made for this hop and leave the 12 artists a note coz we LOVE feedback! Plus:

SG & WH Blog Hop Giveaway image.jpg

One lucky winner will receive both !

Visit the fabulous designers from both teams and comment for your
chance to win!

March 15
Mary C. Nasser

Gwen Lafleur

Ann Tatum
Dana Tatar

March 16
Kristie Taylor
Janet Joehlin
Kelli Stradling

Erin Sipes

March 17
Tammy Tutterow

Carol Baxter (you are here)
Katie Smith
Morena Hockle

The more blogs you comment on, the more chances you have to WIN!
(One comment per blog please.)

You have until Sunday, March 19th. 2017 at 11:59PM Central Time to leave your comments.
Winner will be announced on StencilGirl’s Facebook page and Walnut Hollow’s Facebook page on Monday, March 20th, 2017.

31 thoughts on “StencilGirl & Walnut Hollow Blog Hop: Anniversary Trivet, Feather Collage, and eBook Stand

  1. Wow – you had a lot of fun Carol!!! All your projects are so interesting and unique. Loved seeing how you made each wood piece your own! Thanks bunches for the inspiration. j.

  2. Carol, I just love all 3 but my favorite has to be the trivet. I love the simplicity of it and that the butterflies were created from pieces of stencils. Very creative!

  3. Wow Carol, so many projects. It is so fun seeing yours because they are such fun surprises. My favorite is the feather. Love feathers and this turned out so beautifully. I also think I need one of those stands, so cool!

  4. That feather is so beautiful. I collage all the time, but only in a journal. Hmm, maybe it’s time to give it a try on another surface. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

