A Cup of Serendipitous Art

Serendipity. Finding valuable or agreeable things for which you were not seeking.

My daughter and I have been painting pottery together. Okay, truth, we have done it twice, but we plan to continue. It feels ever so Zen sitting at a table lost in paint, talking a little, laughing a little, and I always hate for it to be over.

cart-april-2017-stencil-club-stencilgirl-serendipity-floral-jennifer-evans.jpg

Jennifer Evans’ mentioned thinking her Serendipity Florals for April 2017 StencilClub would be pretty on a tea cup.

I knew what I had to do!

tea-saucer-baxter-stencilgirl-stencilclub-april-2017.jpg

I think the hardest thing for me when it comes to painting pottery is that even though the store has samples of what the fired colors look like, I have to keep that vision in my mind while painting what look like really soft pastels.

cup-april-2017-stencilcub-serendipity-florals.jpg

First: I painted the base of the cup and saucer with 3 layers of color. I chose a medium blue. I definitely would like to do this again with several hues of blue and white with the objective of a more organic looking “sky”.

saucer-april-12017-stencil-club.jpg

Second: Stenciling on a curved surface requires masking and patience. I have more tape than the latter! I fooled around with the mini stencil leaves on the bottom of the plate, all the while wishing I had a sponge dauber handy. I think the leaves turned out like faded glyphs. Not sure they match the rest of the cup, but it was a nice warm-up to painting the topside of the plate and the outside of the cup.

Third: Mask, trace, then paint the flowers! The graphite pencil burns off in the firing process so I did not have to worry about trace lines. Also, because they are flowers, I was not as concerned about precision in the way I might be if the stencil I was using was a geometric pattern.

I used 2 shades of green, 2 shades of pink, one of yellow and one of orange. I wanted each flower to be distinct and I played quite a bit with color blending, but again, this was a fingers-crossed move looking at pastels and imagining the actual fired colors.

Where there are flowers there are sure to be lady bugs! I am assured they will not drink too much of my tea!

ladybug.jpg

Tip: If you are going to a pay-to-paint-pottery place as I did, and you want precision brushes, do bring your own. The staff at As You Wish was super helpful and opened up several new brushes for me.

This post would not be complete without Andromeda’s little dog George, before and after firing:

andromeda-george-1.jpg

george.jpg

Leave a Reply

